New York Moments

Posted on

2013-11-09 17.19.00
View of the Brooklyn Bridge and Downtown Manhattan.

When the train zips over the Manhattan bridge and you can see the skyline of Downtown and a glint of the green from the Statue of Liberty, that is when I remember that I’m here.  I’m here!  It is easy to forget the simple fact that I live here now.  I need to focus more upon living in the moment, and letting these flashes of New York sear into me. 

I have been temping again this week, but it is an entirely different experience than my first assignment. I was able to come in for an hour last Friday for training (which was a very welcome task for me) and I did not expect the delightful experience that I had. A smiling face greeted me and offered me coffee, and one of the first thing she said was,

  “Now where are you from? I know you aren’t from here, you don’t look jaded.”

2013-11-10 15.34.33
The ceiling at Grand Central Station.

I told here where I was from, and she asked questions, and I felt like she actually cared.  It felt so good to talk to someone with such a cheerful personality.  I felt like she actually saw me.  She gave me shampoo samples (it is a high-end shampoo company) and sent me on my way feeling refreshed and nourished.

The company is in the meatpacking district, my favorite part of the city so far.  As I walked away and had a silly grin on my face because I was so happy to have a job that was actually going to be pleasant.  I looked up and noticed that a huge crew of people were setting up to shoot a movie right outside of the building!  Tents were being set up, and the street was lined with trailers where I’m assuming an A-lister was sitting right inside.  I didn’t stick around to see who was being filmed, but in that moment I was so deliriously happy to be in this city of opportunity.  It was the perfect timing for me to receive the spark of a “New York moment.”

I saw my first musical improv show at The Pit, and it was amazing.  There are so many amazing people here that are following their dreams! I was also able to see Beauty and the Beast on Broadway this weekend, and it was incredible.  I sat in my chair in wonder at the talent of the actors, and the beauty of the theater.  Yesterday I ate lunch at Chelsea Market, and it reminded me a lot of Pikes Place Market in Seattle.

I am going to focus more upon looking around and really seeing New York…because, I’m here!

Leave a Reply

