The Violinist and the Temp

Posted on

2013-10-21 18.33.29I was able to work a few days this week through my temp agency.   I filed papers, in a storage closet for 17 hours.  I spoke to two people in three days, and they were just giving me instructions.  My hands were busy, but not as busy as my mind.  I was stuck in the closet-thinking and getting choked up at the thought…

“Is this going to be my life in New York?”

I was the invisible worker.  Replaceable.  As a temp you are quickly forgotten, so why would the employees invest any of their time into you? I get it.  But walking in on my second day I felt an unbearable sadness.  Another day in the closet. My feet hurt standing up all day in dress shoes, and my wrist hurt (the constant reminder of my former career.) I cried the whole way home on my second day feeling completely defeated.

On my third day temping for the same company, I was a little more hopeful knowing that it would be my last day filing endless stacks of papers, but I was still so sad walking to the train station.  While I walked down the stairs, I heard the most beautiful sound.  A woman played the violin in the middle of the platform with her eyes closed. I stood close to her in the sea of people and I wept, not for sadness, but for the beauty of the music that she was giving to all of us.  She gave me hope to finish my day strong.  She made me realize why I’m here.  This is the city of dreams.
The violin has always sounded a little sad to me- and it was like the exact sound that my heart was making. I was so moved by the sound of her music. It gave me strength for the day… for the week. With each person I meet, who is chasing their dream, it gives me nourishment- and it fills my soul a little.
That, and having a roommate who brings me home a root beer float when the city takes too much from me.

This city is hard. But it’s going to be worth it. The violinist taught me that this week.

4 thoughts on “The Violinist and the Temp

    The Violinist and the Temp | winemakesmehappy said:
    November 8, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    […] ← The Violinist and the Temp […]

      jblowers said:
      November 8, 2013 at 9:35 pm

      You are such a strong woman to go after this dream! I hope you can have those violin moments often. For me it’s just going into the city, the reminder of my love for this hustling, gaga city! And if none of that helps you can come over for coffee! Thinking of you!

    jblowers said:
    November 8, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    Andrea you’re such a strong woman to go after your dreams. I hope you have those violin moments often. For me its going into the city to remember my love for this hustle gaga city. Anytime you need; come to my place, we’ll have some coffee and sweets. 🙂

    phdolphin said:
    February 12, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    I enjoyed reading how that uplifted you keeping you going while you follow your dream. You are a very strong and talented woman.

Leave a Reply

