Jay Z Meant What He Said

Posted on Updated on

2013-10-28 12.45.09I learn something new everyday.  Little things, like that New Yorkers love to honk, and that models are really pretty. How do I know models are pretty? I was able to assist an old acquaintance from my days in Idaho on his photography shoot. There were two European models at the shoot, and it was fascinating to see them at work!  It was such an amazing day to see how it all works behind the beautiful pictures.  There was a whole team of people to make it happen, and it was such a learning experience for me to see it happen.  I love to learn and New York is the place full of opportunities to do so.

I feel more comfortable picking up food at my favorite Thai place across the street.  I’m learning how this place works.  I had to venture into the city alone this week for an interview.  My interview was at the Trump Building, but I didn’t see Donald.

The smallest tasks feel like a victory in this place.  Finding the right train (and station) and actually making it to your destination-and making it on time.  It gives me a thrill and an unexplained joy to complete these little tasks.

After my interview I walked around lower Manhattan and saw landmarks that I’ve only seen in the movies.  I saw the New York Stock Exchange, Wall Street, and Battery Park. I saw where the World Trade Centers stood and went to the museum that welled me up with emotion.  I haven’t gone to the memorial yet, but that is something I may save to do when my folks visit.

I still don’t have a job, but I feel like I’m finding a bit of my place here.  Everyday that passes feels a little bit more like I can do this.  I feel a job coming, almost like I can taste it.  I don’t know what it will be, but as of today, I have applied for 17 of them.  I am excited to be here in New York.  Jay Z meant what he said, “If you can make it here, you can make it anywhere.”  I can make it here. It’s just going to take some time. And it’s going to take a job.  So, I’m ready to start on Monday. Whatever you may be.  But in the mean time…I’m going to keep learning and walking around the beautiful Prospect Park by my house and enjoying the crisp autumn days.2013-10-25 11.40.23

One thought on “Jay Z Meant What He Said

    Ariana said:
    November 4, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    Love 🙂

Leave a Reply

